WebAIM - Web Accessibility In Mind

E-mail List Archives

Thread: WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX

for

Number of posts in this thread: 6 (In chronological order)

From: Nancy Johnson
Date: Fri, Jul 27 2012 7:26AM
Subject: WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX
No previous message | Next message →

Hi,

I am still a newbie to WAI-ARIA and wondering if anyone can help me
with the following:

We are updating our search functionality on our live site and will be
calling data via AJAX. in the following way:

When a user comes to a search page, there will be two or three select
boxes with only the first select input be enabled.

1. The user picks an entry in the first select box.
2. This enables the second box and populates it via AJAX based on the
selection in the first box.
3. The third box is Optional, but it will be populated based on the
first and second selection via AJAX

I understand from the backend developers, they are going use an
onChange event to make the changes

For accessibility, do we need to add WAI-ARIA live regions to the
<select input?
I found this online. Would this be an answer for what I need?
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11350634/how-to-create-fully-accessible-nested-dropdown-lists-using-wai-aria

Can someone explain or point me to good references with good set of
demos or samples?

Thank you
Nancy Johnson

From: Steve Green
Date: Mon, Jul 30 2012 3:42AM
Subject: Re: WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX
← Previous message | Next message →

I don't think you need any ARIA markup for this. We have tested this type of
functionality with screen reader users several times and they have always
been able to understand what is happening. The article you mentioned
acknowledges that it is necessary for the user to have this understanding.
If they don't, then the ARIA won't help them. If they do, our experience
suggests that they don't need the ARIA.

Steve Green
Test Partners Ltd

-----Original Message-----
From: = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED =
[mailto: = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED = ] On Behalf Of Nancy Johnson
Sent: 27 July 2012 14:26
To: WebAIM Discussion List
Subject: [WebAIM] WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX

Hi,

I am still a newbie to WAI-ARIA and wondering if anyone can help me with the
following:

We are updating our search functionality on our live site and will be
calling data via AJAX. in the following way:

When a user comes to a search page, there will be two or three select boxes
with only the first select input be enabled.

1. The user picks an entry in the first select box.
2. This enables the second box and populates it via AJAX based on the
selection in the first box.
3. The third box is Optional, but it will be populated based on the first
and second selection via AJAX

I understand from the backend developers, they are going use an onChange
event to make the changes

For accessibility, do we need to add WAI-ARIA live regions to the <select
input?
I found this online. Would this be an answer for what I need?
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11350634/how-to-create-fully-accessible-n
ested-dropdown-lists-using-wai-aria

Can someone explain or point me to good references with good set of demos
or samples?

Thank you
Nancy Johnson
messages to = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED =

From: Birkir R. Gunnarsson
Date: Mon, Jul 30 2012 4:36AM
Subject: Re: WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX
← Previous message | Next message →

What about adding a small hidden text before the first listbox saying
"when you select an option from this box, the next box (which you can
reach by the tab key) will be populated automatically with values).
The problem, to me, is when these things happen without the user
expecting or checking for them, but if they are aware of it, onChange
events do not have to be bad at all.
Cheers
-B

On 7/30/12, Steve Green < = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED = > wrote:
> I don't think you need any ARIA markup for this. We have tested this type
> of
> functionality with screen reader users several times and they have always
> been able to understand what is happening. The article you mentioned
> acknowledges that it is necessary for the user to have this understanding.
> If they don't, then the ARIA won't help them. If they do, our experience
> suggests that they don't need the ARIA.
>
> Steve Green
> Test Partners Ltd
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED =
> [mailto: = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED = ] On Behalf Of Nancy Johnson
> Sent: 27 July 2012 14:26
> To: WebAIM Discussion List
> Subject: [WebAIM] WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX
>
> Hi,
>
> I am still a newbie to WAI-ARIA and wondering if anyone can help me with
> the
> following:
>
> We are updating our search functionality on our live site and will be
> calling data via AJAX. in the following way:
>
> When a user comes to a search page, there will be two or three select boxes
> with only the first select input be enabled.
>
> 1. The user picks an entry in the first select box.
> 2. This enables the second box and populates it via AJAX based on the
> selection in the first box.
> 3. The third box is Optional, but it will be populated based on the first
> and second selection via AJAX
>
> I understand from the backend developers, they are going use an onChange
> event to make the changes
>
> For accessibility, do we need to add WAI-ARIA live regions to the <select
> input?
> I found this online. Would this be an answer for what I need?
> http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11350634/how-to-create-fully-accessible-n
> ested-dropdown-lists-using-wai-aria
>
> Can someone explain or point me to good references with good set of demos
> or samples?
>
> Thank you
> Nancy Johnson
> > > messages to = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED =
>
> > > >

From: Gunderson, Jon R
Date: Mon, Jul 30 2012 7:08AM
Subject: Re: WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX
← Previous message | Next message →

Do NOT added aria-live to the combobox.

Here are examples of aria enabled comboboxes.

1. http://hanshillen.github.com/jqtest/#goto_autocomplete

2. http://oaa-accessibility.org/examples/role/77/

Jon



On 7/30/12 4:42 AM, "Steve Green" < = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED = > wrote:

>I don't think you need any ARIA markup for this. We have tested this type
>of
>functionality with screen reader users several times and they have always
>been able to understand what is happening. The article you mentioned
>acknowledges that it is necessary for the user to have this understanding.
>If they don't, then the ARIA won't help them. If they do, our experience
>suggests that they don't need the ARIA.
>
>Steve Green
>Test Partners Ltd
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED =
>[mailto: = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED = ] On Behalf Of Nancy Johnson
>Sent: 27 July 2012 14:26
>To: WebAIM Discussion List
>Subject: [WebAIM] WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX
>
>Hi,
>
>I am still a newbie to WAI-ARIA and wondering if anyone can help me with
>the
>following:
>
>We are updating our search functionality on our live site and will be
>calling data via AJAX. in the following way:
>
>When a user comes to a search page, there will be two or three select
>boxes
>with only the first select input be enabled.
>
>1. The user picks an entry in the first select box.
>2. This enables the second box and populates it via AJAX based on the
>selection in the first box.
>3. The third box is Optional, but it will be populated based on the first
>and second selection via AJAX
>
>I understand from the backend developers, they are going use an onChange
>event to make the changes
>
>For accessibility, do we need to add WAI-ARIA live regions to the <select
>input?
>I found this online. Would this be an answer for what I need?
>http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11350634/how-to-create-fully-accessible
>-n
>ested-dropdown-lists-using-wai-aria
>
>Can someone explain or point me to good references with good set of demos
>or samples?
>
>Thank you
>Nancy Johnson
>>>messages to = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED =
>
>>>

From: Nancy Johnson
Date: Mon, Jul 30 2012 12:18PM
Subject: Re: WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX
← Previous message | Next message →

Thank you for all your answers...

Nancy


On Mon, Jul 30, 2012 at 9:08 AM, Gunderson, Jon R < = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED = > wrote:
> Do NOT added aria-live to the combobox.
>
> Here are examples of aria enabled comboboxes.
>
> 1. http://hanshillen.github.com/jqtest/#goto_autocomplete
>
> 2. http://oaa-accessibility.org/examples/role/77/
>
> Jon
>
>
>
> On 7/30/12 4:42 AM, "Steve Green" < = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED = > wrote:
>
>>I don't think you need any ARIA markup for this. We have tested this type
>>of
>>functionality with screen reader users several times and they have always
>>been able to understand what is happening. The article you mentioned
>>acknowledges that it is necessary for the user to have this understanding.
>>If they don't, then the ARIA won't help them. If they do, our experience
>>suggests that they don't need the ARIA.
>>
>>Steve Green
>>Test Partners Ltd
>>
>>-----Original Message-----
>>From: = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED =
>>[mailto: = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED = ] On Behalf Of Nancy Johnson
>>Sent: 27 July 2012 14:26
>>To: WebAIM Discussion List
>>Subject: [WebAIM] WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX
>>
>>Hi,
>>
>>I am still a newbie to WAI-ARIA and wondering if anyone can help me with
>>the
>>following:
>>
>>We are updating our search functionality on our live site and will be
>>calling data via AJAX. in the following way:
>>
>>When a user comes to a search page, there will be two or three select
>>boxes
>>with only the first select input be enabled.
>>
>>1. The user picks an entry in the first select box.
>>2. This enables the second box and populates it via AJAX based on the
>>selection in the first box.
>>3. The third box is Optional, but it will be populated based on the first
>>and second selection via AJAX
>>
>>I understand from the backend developers, they are going use an onChange
>>event to make the changes
>>
>>For accessibility, do we need to add WAI-ARIA live regions to the <select
>>input?
>>I found this online. Would this be an answer for what I need?
>>http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11350634/how-to-create-fully-accessible
>>-n
>>ested-dropdown-lists-using-wai-aria
>>
>>Can someone explain or point me to good references with good set of demos
>>or samples?
>>
>>Thank you
>>Nancy Johnson
>>>>>>messages to = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED =
>>
>>>>>>>
> > >

From: Srinivasu Chakravarthula
Date: Wed, Aug 01 2012 5:16AM
Subject: Re: WAI ARIA help.. select boxes that are populated via AJAX
← Previous message | No next message

Hi Nancy,

Welcome to the world of WAI - ARIA. If my understanding is correct, your
second select box and so on would enable, only when user make a choice for
first or prior select box. In this scenario, I also understand, the select
box will enable only user makes selection in first select box and use tab
key to the next box. In that case, I don't think, ARIA would really add
value to this as long you are using corrent semantics and structure.

Sorry for the delay, btw,
-Srinivasu

On Fri, Jul 27, 2012 at 6:56 PM, Nancy Johnson < = EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED = > wrote:

> Hi,
>
> I am still a newbie to WAI-ARIA and wondering if anyone can help me
> with the following:
>
> We are updating our search functionality on our live site and will be
> calling data via AJAX. in the following way:
>
> When a user comes to a search page, there will be two or three select
> boxes with only the first select input be enabled.
>
> 1. The user picks an entry in the first select box.
> 2. This enables the second box and populates it via AJAX based on the
> selection in the first box.
> 3. The third box is Optional, but it will be populated based on the
> first and second selection via AJAX
>
> I understand from the backend developers, they are going use an
> onChange event to make the changes
>
> For accessibility, do we need to add WAI-ARIA live regions to the
> <select input?
> I found this online. Would this be an answer for what I need?
>
> http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11350634/how-to-create-fully-accessible-nested-dropdown-lists-using-wai-aria
>
> Can someone explain or point me to good references with good set of
> demos or samples?
>
> Thank you
> Nancy Johnson
> > > >



--
Regards,

Srinivasu Chakravarthula - Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/VasuTweets
Website: http://www.srinivasu.org | http://www.learnaccessibility.org

Let's create an inclusive web!