WebAIM - Web Accessibility In Mind

E-mail List Archives

Re: Browsers handling more widgets nativelyUsing title attribute on non-anchor elements?

for

Date: May 4, 2016 2:27PM

Hi Chaals,

Thank you for taking the time to address my response to Deborah's comment about her desire for browsers to natively handle some of the WAI-ARIA functions. I know most folks on this thread just check in to find answers on "in the weeds" issues like, what browser supports this or what attribute works best for that. However, I think from time to time it's good to raise our heads up out of the weeds and take a gander at some of the bigger questions on the horizon that drive our industry. So thanks for engaging me and the others on this broader topic.

Quick note about my background: I've been a professional in the Web business since 1998, having served worked in the U.S. in public schools, state agencies, private business (Web design agency owner for a dozen years), plus I've worked as the accessibility lead at what was the fourth largest company in the world, as well as having served as principal accessibility consultant for one of the big agencies in the U.S. and have served as a consultant for several other a11y agencies you likely interact with on a daily basis in your committee work. I also make a pretty good pan of baklava. You can ask Birkir about that.