WebAIM - Web Accessibility In Mind

E-mail List Archives

Re: Numbered Lists with Screenshots

for

Date: Oct 14, 2016 7:32AM

Are the images inside of list items? If not, that might confuse AT as to just how many lists/list items there are. Ideally, I would think that the XYZ screenshot would be in list item 3, and the 123 screenshot would be in list item 5. This is based on my assumption that you wouldn't want a screenshot to be a numbered list item by itself, since it seems like you are using the numbers of the ordered list as procedural steps.

-----Original Message-----
From: WebAIM-Forum [mailto: <EMAIL REMOVED> ] On Behalf Of Spealman, Jill
Sent: Thursday, October 13, 2016 5:55 PM
To: <EMAIL REMOVED>
Subject: [WebAIM] Numbered Lists with Screenshots

Hello,
I am a newbie! Our department writes procedural documents for software in Word converted to PDF and we often include screenshots.
For example, a procedure might look something like this:

1. Double-click the recording file.

2. Click the pause button.

3. Click OK. The XYZ screen opens.

[XYZ screenshot here]

4. Check the video box.

5. Click OK. The 123 screen opens.

[123 screenshot here]

6. Type your info and click Submit.

I am using the NVDA screen reader. My problem is that when the PDF is read the voice says:
"List with three items." Then reads the first three items as shown above.
Then it reads the alt text on the screenshot.
Then it says "List with two items...4. Check the video box. 5. Click OK..."

Is there any way to make it say "List with 6 items" and just read the alt text where it screenshots are?
I am using numbered lists in Word properly...no manual numbering going on.

Thanks for your assistance,

Jill