WebAIM - Web Accessibility In Mind

E-mail List Archives

Re: help with pdf remediation

for

Date: Mar 17, 2021 2:41PM

Thank you!!!

That solved the problem.
Needless to say, I have a lot of work ahead of me.
Just to say, in most cases so far the lang in the content tab was set to en u. and the lang in the tag tab was set to French.
So I guess we know where Jaws was picking it up from.
Incidentally my version of Jaws is current.

It does not appear that I can declare a language for a section or paragraph and have it apply to the whole unit. Is my conclusion correct?
I have tried this on a section and on a paragraph and it only applied for the first item in the tag.
Needless to say, this is a big Pain.

I am seeing some unusual tag types in this document. Story seems to be mapped to section.
Should I leave them alone? Does it matter?

Needless to say I am new at this so I expect that I will learn a lot through trial and error.
Thanks again for all your help
David
-----Original Message-----
From: WebAIM-Forum < <EMAIL REMOVED> > On Behalf Of <EMAIL REMOVED>
Sent: Wednesday, March 17, 2021 11:27 AM
To: 'WebAIM Discussion List' < <EMAIL REMOVED> >
Subject: Re: [WebAIM] help with pdf remediation

Coincidentally, I was just reviewing this issue last week with one of Adobe's lead engineers.

There are several factors that can throw off how the language is recognized by the AT:
1. How the designer set up the source file in InDesign.
2. How InDesign's internal export utility coded the language attribute into the PDF.
3. And how screen readers sometimes miss the language setting when voicing the PDF.

Details for each factor are below. Note, we're talking about "local" language settings that are used to specify one paragraph or word in a different language from the main document. The main "global" language setting is different and is set in the PDF's Properties (aka, metadata).

[Long explanation follows]

1. The source InDesign File.