WebAIM - Web Accessibility In Mind

E-mail List Archives

Re: Converting Accessible Word to PDF: Tips for automating theprocess?

for

Date: Jul 9, 2012 12:54PM

Hi! I'm new to creating accessible documents and have been following tutorials from this website and others. But I'm still having trouble creating accessible PDFs from a Word document. I was hoping someone could give me some pointers.
I need to create several documents to load onto our website and post them in both Word and PDF file formats.
Software I'm using: Word 2010, Adobe Acrobat X In Word, I'm using styles for headings, adding alt text for images, descriptions for hypertext, etc. When I run the accessibility checker in Word, it says "no accessibility issues found".
To create a PDF from the Word document, I've been using the "Create a PDF" Add-In. When I view the tags, they appear to have been created correctly. But I'm having the following problems:

AWK: I'm assuming you mean the add-in that Adobe offers?

* Tab Order: Any page with a hypertext link comes up with the error from the accessibility checker "Tab Order may be inconsistent with the structure order ". Is there a way to get it to automatically use the source document structure for tab order? Otherwise I have to fix every page in the PDF containing a link in Adobe after the conversion, which can be time consuming.

It's a pain I agree, but the fix is easy:
1) open the PDF
2) Open the "page thumbnails" panel
3) click on one page, then hit ctrl+a to select all pages
4) Open the "page properties" option and select "use document structure" and hit ok.