WebAIM - Web Accessibility In Mind

E-mail List Archives

Thread: PPT: alt tag on master slide

for

Number of posts in this thread: 5 (In chronological order)

Date: Mon, May 20 2019 5:25PM
Subject: PPT: alt tag on master slide
No previous message | Next message →

Hello! I'm fairly new to accessibility and this is my first time posting. I'm hoping I can get some help with PPT accessibility.

I've been tasked with creating a PPT template that is accessible for courses created by my department.

I'd like to use master slides, but I'd like to have the images contained on them have alt tags. Is this possible? I know that images on master slides in PPT are not read by screen readers, which makes me think that anything that requires an alt-tag needs to be on a regular slide. Is this the case?

There are icons on our master slides, and sometimes logos, and I would like them to have descriptions without having to move them from master slides to regular slides. To accomplish this, do I need a workaround, like an invisible box on the slide the contains the alt-tag?

Thanks for any input you can provide.

Kindest regards,

-Tami
————————————
Tami J Tolpa
Graphic Designer
Cultivate Learning at University of Washington

Date: Mon, May 20 2019 5:35PM
Subject: Re: PPT: alt tag on master slide
← Previous message | Next message →

JAWS 2019 does seem to speak alt text from images on master slides with the most recent version of Office. I haven't tested out what version of JAWS And PowerPoint are required -- but I'm happy to hear that it is now supported at least with some combination.

Jon

Jonathan Avila, CPWA
Chief Accessibility Officer
Level Access
= EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED =
703.637.8957 office
Visit us online:
Website | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | Blog