Newsletter Archives - August 2006

Note

This newsletter is maintained here for archival purposes. The content presented here may be outdated, may contain out-of-date links, and may not represent current best practices or represent the opinion and recommendations of WebAIM. For up-to-date information, please refer to the WebAIM web site.

Featured Article

Appropriate Use of Alternative Text

Despite being the first principle of web accessibility, inappropriate or missing alt text still plagues the web. This article presents the basics of alternative text and through many examples demonstrates the proper implementation of alternative text for all types of images.

News

NIMAS in IDEA: Response to Public Comments and Final Regulations

The final federal regulations are now available for the National Instructional Materials Accessibility Standard (NIMAS) in Part B of IDEA 2004. They were published by the Department of Education in an "unofficial" form pending their publication in the Federal Register. Although the document is well over 1700 pages, WebAIM staff that participate in the National Center on Disability and Access to Education (NCDAE) collected only those items that pertain to NIMAS.

Google Accessibility Search

The release of Google Accessibility Search has spurred comments in the accessibility sector:

Web Accessibility: Web Standards and Regulatory Compliance

This book, the updated sequel to "Constructing Web Accessibility" features authors Jim Thatcher, Richard Rutter, Christian Heilmann, Andrew Kirkpatrick, Cynthia Waddell, Michael R. Burks, Shawn Lawton Henry, Bruce Lawson, Mark Urban, and Patrick H. Lauke. This nearly 700 page book is certain to be a standard read for web accessibility enthusiasts. You can also read Chapter 1: "Understanding Web Accessibility" online.

NCDAE Webcast: Accessibility and Open Source Content Management Systems

The National Center on Disability and Access to Education (NCDAE) will host another free webcast Wednesday, August 30th, 2006. A discussion will be held on the accessibility of open source content management systems. The broadcast will begin at 1PM MDT (12:00PM Pacific; 2:00PM Central; 3:00PM Eastern).

Tips and Resources

JavaScript Event Tests Part 1: mouseover
from juicystudio.com

This is the first part of a series of articles investigating support for JavaScript events in popular screen readers. This article investigates the mouseover event.

Online Interface for RAAKT - Remote Accessibility Testing
from standards–schmandards.com

Test your web site using this newly created RAAKT interface.

Colorblind Web Page Filter
from colorfilter.wickline.org

Test your web site colors using the several filters provided by this tool.

WebAIM E-mail Discussion List

Subscribe to the WebAIM E-mail Discussion List

View the Discussion List Archives

Selected recent threads