WebAIM - Web Accessibility In Mind

E-mail List Archives

FCC Seeks Nominations for 4th Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility


From: Jamal Mazrui
Date: Dec 30, 2014 12:49PM

The FCC will accept nominations for the 4th Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility (Chairman’s AAA) from January 5, 2015 through March 5, 2015 for new products, services, technologies or practices designed to advance accessibility to communications or video programming technologies for people with disabilities. Innovations are eligible for submission if they were first made available to the public between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2014. Winners will be recognized at a ceremony in June 2015. The place and time for the ceremony will be announced at a later time.

Nominations will be accepted in the following eight categories:

* CAPTCHA Alternatives
* Internet of Things
* Wearable Devices
* Real-Time Text
* Teleconferencing
* Video Description
* Augmented Reality
* Miscellaneous

For more information about the categories and criteria for nominations, and how to submit nominations, please review the following Public Notice:

For questions or inquiries about the Chairman’s AAA ceremony, please contact Jamal Mazrui, Deputy Director, Accessibility and Innovation Initiative, (202) 418-0069 or <EMAIL REMOVED> <mailto: <EMAIL REMOVED> >, or Kelly Jones, (202) 418-7078, <EMAIL REMOVED> <mailto: <EMAIL REMOVED> >, or call the ASL Consumer Support Line, at (844) 432-2275 via videophone. Inquiries may also be sent to <EMAIL REMOVED> <mailto: <EMAIL REMOVED> >.