WebAIM - Web Accessibility In Mind

E-mail List Archives

Regarding the project: To Make the Web Freely Accessible for All.

for

Date: Apr 11, 2012 6:40PM

Hi,
I'm currently working on a project that I'd like to share here if it's of interest. To be on the safe side though, I asked Jared if this would be alright to post here, I don't wish to annoy anyone.

As you probably already know, I've been working on AccDC since about 2009. For those who don't know what that is, AccDC is an API that accelerates dynamic behaviors while automating accessibility, allowing developers to incorporate performance enhanced processes within their web technologies, without requiring them to know how Assistive Technologies work to make their applications automatically accessible for disabled Assistive Technology users.

My hope is to revolutionize the development of automatically accessible web technologies around the world, which would positively impact the lives of hundreds of millions of people using virtual technologies.

This would also save hundreds of millions for businesses and organizations in the future by incorporating automatic accessibility within their software, in both public and private sectors in all countries.

To clarify, AccDC is not a reactive solution, such as software that retrofits pre-existing web technologies to enable accessibility, but rather, it is a proactive one, that allows businesses, organizations, and universities to incorporate automatic accessibility as a platform for emerging technologies. Still, AccDC can be included within pre-existing web technologies just as easily, whether as a standalone API, or by plugging it into the functionality of any JavaScript framework or library, such as jQuery, YUI, Ext JS, Dojo, or any other to enhance functionality.