WebAIM - Web Accessibility In Mind

E-mail List Archives

Thread: Delete PDF tag vs. artifact?

for

Number of posts in this thread: 5 (In chronological order)

Date: Thu, Sep 14 2017 2:45PM
Subject: Delete PDF tag vs. artifact?
No previous message | Next message →

Hello,
I am new to tagging. For decorative or irrelevant images, is it always necessary to artifact them? I am testing and find that if I delete the irrelevant tags from the PDF they still display on the PDF but are not spoken by the NVDA screen reader. I am generating PDF tags when I save the MS Word doc to PDF, so as far as I can tell I am not losing my irrelevant images.

Also...when writing alt-text is it preferable to include or exclude the period (stop) at the end of the sentence?

Thanks!

Jill Spealman
Instructional Designer/Technical Writer
JLL Technology Experience and Adoption

This email is for the use of the intended recipient(s) only. If you have received this email in error, please notify the sender immediately and then delete it. If you are not the intended recipient, you must not keep, use, disclose, copy or distribute this email without the author's prior permission. We have taken precautions to minimize the risk of transmitting software viruses, but we advise you to carry out your own virus checks on any attachment to this message. We cannot accept liability for any loss or damage caused by software viruses. The information contained in this communication may be confidential and may be subject to the attorney-client privilege. If you are the intended recipient and you do not wish to receive similar electronic messages from us in the future then please respond to the sender to this effect.

Date: Thu, Sep 14 2017 7:30PM
Subject: Re: Delete PDF tag vs. artifact?
← Previous message | Next message →

I think it is preferable to artifact decorative content instead of just
removing the tags: otherwise you may end up with "untagged" content when