WebAIM - Web Accessibility In Mind

E-mail List Archives

Re: WCAG and various Laws


From: Geof Collis
Date: Mar 30, 2010 5:39PM

Hi Dennis

Seems Google did a pretty good translation:

"The requirements of the second level of compliance with the
recommendations reflect the priority of a standard W3C WCAG 2.0."


"The requirements of the third level of compliance found to certain
recommendations of priorities AA and AAA standard W3C WCAG 2.0."


"This standard is based on the work of the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI [
World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), whose recommendations are contained
in the document entitled Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 1.0,

and version 2.0 (WGAG 2.0
http://www.w3.org/TR/WCAG20/). "


"This appendix lists the recommendations (or success criteria) of the
draft standard Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (WCAG 2.0) of the W3C
were not included in the standards on the accessibility of a website
(SGQRI 008-01), the accessibility of a

Downloadable document (SGQRI 008-02) and the accessibility of
multimedia in a website (SGQRI 008-03).
Mainly recommendations
AAA level, plus a few recommendations to level AA.
They were considered too restrictive for the moment to integrate the
requirements of this standard.
These recommendations, however, can increase the level of
accessibility because they improve the usability for
persons with disabilities.
They should therefore be considered in a process of improving
accessibility for people with disabilities to a site
These recommendations can be applied to a public website, intranet or
extranet or, more narrowly, to a document, an object
multimedia or a web page designed specifically for this clientele.
The following excerpts are cited in the document entitled Web Content
Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, Rules for the Web Content Accessibility
Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, French Translation Approved, Publication June
25, 2009 (
http://www.w3.org/Translations/WCAG20-fr/). "